jump to navigation

How I Learn December 20, 2009

Posted by elearninginnovate in Laraine's Thoughts.
trackback

My view on how I learn has changed slightly from seven weeks ago due to the knowledge I have gained from other learning theories. The cognitive theory of multimedia includes auditory and visual (words and pictures/video, etc.) and is also known as the dual-coding theory. I believe the majority of learners including myself learn best this way. After all we are a visually stimulated society. We play video games (Wii bowling), watch 3D movies (Avatar), are socially networked through numerous sites such as Facebook, LinkedIn, Twine, etc. I text on my 3G smart phones, blog, and chat online. Multimedia, the digital age, is the way I learn best. It is the Adult Learning Theory. So it, therefore, contains all the theories I have learned:

• Behavioral – by repeating what we see visually with auditory
• Cognitive – by using sensory, short-term, and long-term memory
• Constructivist – collaborative and social
• Social Learning – group participation and learning through social networking
• Connectivism – digital online access to information, exists in networks
• Adult Learning – networked learning for the digital age

Since I develop online, web-based training I see advantages to the digital way of learning and also have gained insight into how all the above listed learning theories work together to help engage not only me, but my learners. Incorporating these theories helps to assure that all learners, no matter how they learn best as individuals, can become engaged in learning. Whether I am training virtually, face to face in a classroom, or through web-based training; technology can only better the way the information is presented and received by learners.

I use technology to perform research using not only search engines, but also social networking sites, blogs, wikis and podcasts. Creating training is also done electronically through tools such as Captivate, Flash, Photoshop, uPerform, digital video recording, Google apps and Microsoft Office apps. Recording information electronically using the previous mentioned tools allows me to create reusable learning objects (RLO) that can be reused in other training courses. Examples of RLOs that I have used include online course navigation, login and logout of an application that has multiple courses, splash (opening screen) screens to each course, course completions, and so on.

Of course, there are many other learning theories out there http://www. learning-theories.com/ but what I learned from the list of theories above has taught me that as an instructional designer there is a wealth of information to tap into to better the learner’s experience.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

