jump to navigation

Connectivism December 7, 2009

Posted by elearninginnovate in Laraine's Thoughts.
trackback

Online learning has enabled me to learn in faster ways in that it has opened global horizons to learn in, work in, and create in. I have been able to learn from coworkers across the world not only using applications such as Ready Talk and Skype, but collaborate on projects using Google Apps such as Google docs. Facebook has allowed me to stay in touch and learn from family and friends, and total strangers who have shared their world with me. I have also been able to share and teach others. I hope my blog will grow and reach out to a network of other instructional designers whereby we can teach each other and share ideas. Reading other blogs in the field of instructional design has been an eye opening experience presenting me with new ways to look at elearning. Linkedin has given me contacts in the business world and I have been able to learn from others through their posts on Linkedin. I also like to use YouTube to research new ideas in instructional design and what others are doing in the field.

When I have questions, researching the Internet using Google, Bing, and YouTube has helped me to learn and find more information much faster than in the old days of going to the library and using the card catalog and Reference Desk. University libraries are online and information can be obtained in a few clicks of the keyboard. I also do research using professional organizations like ASTD (American Society for Training and Development) and the eLearning Guild.

According to Siemens, “connectivism is driven by the understanding that decisions are based on rapidly altering foundations. New information is continually being acquired and the ability to draw distinctions between important and unimportant information is vital. Also critical is the ability to recognize when new information alters the landscape based on decisions made yesterday” (Siemens, 2005, para. 24). This is what online learning is all about. It allows the learner to quickly acquire up-to-date information and helps them recognize when that information has changed in order to make sound business decisions. Therefore, connectivism helps me also as a learner to acquire additional information about what I’m learning in a course, at work, and in my field as an instructional designer.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

